Think Before You Post: The 6 Commandments of Facebook

I embarked on a journey more than eight weeks ago, and the result is the podcast above. My journey began by reading a book titled, “You Are Not A Gadget: A Manifesto” by Jaron Lanier. I wrote a book review, and expressed my less-than-satisfactory opinion of the book. It just wasn’t for me.

Despite my confusion and frustration while reading the book, it sparked the idea to combine two concepts Lanier mentions: neoteny and trolling. Neoteny describes the behavior of an adult displaying characteristics of a child. Lanier describes how social media encourages, or at least provides an opportunity for, people who seek attention in a child-like way. Trolling is a term used to describe online bullying. I decided to combine the two terms with theories of computer-mediated communication (CMC) to see where it led.

I decided that instead of exploring trolling, I would focus on rude, passive-aggressive, or inappropriate behavior online. Facebook is the medium of choice for most of my social circle, so I focused on Facebook for the research. Using communication theory to understand the causes for bad behavior, I developed a Digital and Media Literacy podcast to educate my fellow “Generation X” (1965-1980) Facebook users.

10 Commandments of Facebook

Here is an Annotated Bibliography citing all references and explaining my evaluation of the literature I used for my research.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by arwenmccaffrey on June 27, 2014 - 6:34 pm

    Have you ever seen Brian Regan, the stand up comedian? He does a bit about “me monsters” and how they always one-up everybody else’s stories just for the sake of narcissism. I’m pretty sure it’s the story of Facebook. Your project offers some wonderful suggestions that people really, really need to hear…:D Great work Wendi! Cheers and let’s have a virtual drink!

Leave a Reply

KCommBlog

Communication in an Online Age

THE TEA

An acadamic exploration of communication theory...

Always write

I may not always be right, but I always write.

Writer (Woman) in Transition

Exploring life transitions and learning how to navigate through them.

CydSays

Communication: Key to Life | Grad School Blog

Nikki Edmondson's Blog

Just your average girl trying to make it in the real world.

Dawn Parra

My journey through higher education...

A reflection of my thoughts.....

My journey through communication studies in graduate school

HuntintheQC

Back in school. Life in the Queen City

arwenmccaffrey

Let's do this.

wickedamj- Ann Jones

the Wicked Queen is getting smart at Queen University!

Jayne Says What

craft & be crafted

Angela Stalcup's Communications Blog

A hopeful experiment in scholarship

Stacy Cacciatore's Communications Blog

Reflecting on my educational journey

Angela

sO wHAt...I'm a Gemini

musings

thoughts on communication and the world around

Communication Weekly

The musings of a grad student

Newsroom Refugee

It's not as romantic as a newspaper, but maybe I'll find my voice right here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

